About us

The "Center of Excellence for Cogeneration Technologies" (CeCoGen) bundles the research activities of the Tech. Univ. of Applied Sciences Amberg-Weiden in the field of CHP technologies. It is affiliated with the Faculty of Mechanical / Environmental Engineering and is funded by the Free State of Bavaria. The research focus of the CeCoGen is on optimising efficiency and reducing emissions in CHP, the use of new energy sources in CHP processes, sector coupling and systemic integration of CHP plants in energy supply structures and the development of new, innovative CHP concepts.


Scientific direction / management

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Markus Brautsch

Prof. Dr. Raphael Lechner


Prof. Dr.-Ing. Stefan Beer

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Andreas Weiß

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Marco Taschek

Prof. Frank Späte


Partner Network

The Center of Excellence for Cogeneration Technologies is embedded in a network of colleges, universities, research institutions and industrial partners that extend far beyond Bavaria's borders. Joint projects are also being worked on with partners from the Czech Republic, China and Japan, among others.

Fraunhofer Institute for Environmental, Safety and Energy Technology UMSICHT

Centre for Energy Technology at the University of Bayreuth

Jiangsu University

University of West Bohemia

Institute for Energy Technology IfE GmbH at the Tech. Univ. of Applied Sciences Amberg-Weiden

Wasserstoffbündnis Bayern (Hydrogen Alliance of Bavaria)

Friedrich-Alexander University Erlangen-Nürnberg

Bavarian Science Forum (BayWISS)

Cluster Energietechnik (Cluster Energy Technology)

Hokkaido University

AVL Deutschland GmbH

UCEEB at the Czech Technical University